Computational Design

With this assignment, we have to experience with the grasshopper and have 3d print it. I have two years of experience with 3D printing but ı've never used grasshopper before. I was really excited beginning with the assignment.

First of all, I wanna create random pyramids with grasshopper. I wanted to print pyramids at random heights but the certain rule.

I placed my four points in the coordinate system of the rhino.

0.1.jpg

And extruded with coordination system again.

0.2.jpg

And ı duplicated these shapes.

0.3.jpg

I created Item and Scale likewise ı can control every item size but ı couldn't reach out for a certain rule.

1.jpg

Basically ı followed this tutorial on youtube. But ı did not complete the whole tutorial because ı just wanted to obtain organic shapes.

1. Create a Rectangular frame from the rhino. — open grasshopper—create a CRV from grasshopper—- select the frame from rhino and connect with CRV command—right click on point select set one curve. It turns RED, everything is süper!!!—Then create Pop2D — Connect with crv— It turns GREEN —- Alles good. 8.jpg

I basically followed the tutorial at some point.

9.jpg

2. When the time is ready, type wbjoin, wbbloop,wbframe,wbthicken. Connect them from mesh points.

Wbloop; every level value represents the number of face introduction for each object.

Wbframe; you arrange distance between their node points.

Wbthicken; the thickness between two faces.

For 3D printing, It should be min. 2 mm

10x.jpg

I wanted to make a neckless from these organic shapes. So ı measured my neckless ı need 55 Cm long material. But unfortunately, you cannot print more than 20×20 cm space. I actually wanna create chains to print at the same time. Connected chain. But also I couldn't find how to do that. I figured out that we can choose close mesh points from the model but it was too selecting more than one points at the same time.

11.jpg

Textile 3D printing